NZ Gay Marriage Bill Passes Second Reading

A just and valid marriage law

Last night the Marriage (Definition of Marriage) Amendment Bill had its second reading in Parliament and was passed 77 votes to 44. The change from the first reading is very small, that reading saw the Bill pass 80 to 40.  It appears MPs believe they have a mandate to pass this legislation through.  The next step is the Committee stage, where the legislation is worked through clause by clause.  It is reported that this Bill could be passed as soon as April, although marriages between same-sex and transgender couples would not be able to take place for another four months after that.

Sadly, many MPs have not listened to those who are against the legislation.  They have been caught up in the “if two people love each other it must be okay” lie.  They have not understood the importance marriage between one man and one woman is to society.  They have failed to listen to the many people who have spoken against same-sex marriage.

The Bill is going through so fast that ordinary New Zealander’s have not had the opportunity to really talk through the facts and the implications this legislation would have on our society.  Too many people support gay marriage, but find the idea of gay adoption a difficult pill to swallow.  How many of those in support would change their minds if they knew the adoption legislation would be changed to allow gay adoption?  What implications will this legislation have for heterosexual couples who wish to adopt, from what is already a pitiful amount of babies and children available for adoption in the country each year anyway?

Fr Linus Clovis, a Canon Lawyer, spoke of a just and valid law in his article “The Church and the Legal Recognition of Homosexual Unions“, he said:

“To be just and therefore lawful and valid, a law cannot benefit a minority at the expense of the majority.  There is therefore reason to be concerned when the institution of marriage, which is available to every man and woman, is tampered with to accommodate the lifestyle choices of a few.”

Louisa Wall’s Marriage Bill (now dubbed a “Marriage Equality Bill), is surely not a just law.  It is a law which serves the minority, who push their militant agenda to redefine marriage and family, and in so doing defile this sacred institution.

How they voted:

Thank you to all the courageous MPs who stood up for true marriage, being between one man and one woman in the second reading of this Bill.

FOR: 77

National: Amy Adams, Chris Auchinvole, Maggie Barry, Paula Bennett, Jackie Blue, Cam Calder, David Carter, Judith Collins, Jacqui Dean, Craig Foss, Aaron Gilmore (new MP), Paul Goldsmith, Jo Goodhew, Tim Groser, Tau Henare, Paul Hutchison, Nikki Kaye, Steven Joyce, John Key, Hekia Parata, Jami-Lee Ross, Scott Simpson, Chris Tremain, Nicky Wagner, Kate Wilkinson, Maurice Williamson.

Labour: Jacinda Ardern, Carol Beaumont (new MP), David Clark, Clayton Cosgrove, David Cunliffe, Clare Curran, Lianne Dalziel, Ruth Dyson, Kris Faafoi, Darien Fenton, Phil Goff, Chris Hipkins, Parekura Horomia, Raymond Huo (did not vote first reading), Shane Jones, Annette King, Iain Lees-Galloway, Andrew Little, Moana Mackey, Nanaia Mahuta, Trevor Mallard, Sue Moroney, David Parker, Rajen Prasad, Grant Robertson, David Shearer, Maryan Street, Rino Tirikatene, Phil Twyford, Louisa Wall, Megan Woods.

Greens: Steffan Browning, David Clendon, Catherine Delahunty, Julie-Anne Genter, Kennedy Graham, Kevin Hague, Gareth Hughes, Jan Logie, Mojo Mathers, Russel Norman, Denise Roche, Metiria Turei, Eugenie Sage, Holly Walker.

Maori Party: Pita Sharples, Te Ururoa Flavell, Tariana Turia

United Future: Peter Dunne

ACT: John Banks

Mana: Hone Harawira


National: Shane Ardern, Kanwaljit Singh Bakshi, David Bennett, Chester Borrows, Simon Bridges, Gerry Brownlee (changed vote), Jonathan Coleman (changed vote), Bill English, Chris Finlayson, Nathan Guy, John Hayes, Phil Heatley, Colin King, Melissa Lee, Sam Lotu-Iiga, Tim Macindoe, Todd McClay, Murray McCully (changed vote), Ian McKelvie (changed vote), Mark Mitchell, Alfred Ngaro, Simon O’Connor, Eric Roy, Tony Ryall, Mike Sabin, Katrina Shanks, Nick Smith, Lindsay Tisch, Anne Tolley, Louise Upston, Michael Woodhouse, Jian Yang, Jonathan Young.

Labour: Damien O’Connor, Ross Robertson, Su’a William Sio

NZ First: Asenati Lole-Taylor, Tracey Martin, Winston Peters, Richard Prosser, Barbara Stewart, Andrew Williams, Denis O’Rourke.

Independent:  Brendan Horan

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: